Individual AS 33504: fined $7,000, fatigue, 4 December 2025
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 33504. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 33504
The proceeding
- Decision
- Guilty, no conviction recorded
- Court
- Sunshine Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- Victoria
- Hearing date
- 4 December 2025
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 7(2)(1) Road Safety Act (VIC), s 137, s 304(1) Road Safety Road Rules (VIC)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 4
Facts
The accused was intercepted in a B-double combination whilst only registered to tow one trailer. They were directed to drop one trailer before they were to leave that area. Authorised Officers found that they had downgraded their registration due to cost issues only a month prior. They were intercepted again about an hour later in the same B-double combination. They were also found to be off-route of their PBS permit. The accused was dismissive of the Authorised Officers so that Victoria Police were required to assist. The accused also began filming the Authorised Officers. The Magistrate found that the accused understood the direction yet chose to simply not follow it. They found that the accused was operating at a lower, and therefore cheaper, registration simply for commercial gain.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $7,000
Fines under s 137 on the register: $7,000 to $7,000, median $7,000 across 2 matters.
Educational point
Drivers must comply with officers’ lawful requests. The failure of a driver to comply to both NHVR and Victoria Police was found to be an aggravating factor.
As reported by NHVR.
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-5d5573f56540, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.