Individual AS 24395: fined $6,000, fatigue, 6 May 2024
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 24395. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 24395
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Parramatta Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 6 May 2024
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 254(1)(a)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 1
Facts
The accused was the driver of the heavy vehicle. The heavy vehicle had a gross vehicle mass exceeding 12 tonnes constituting a fatigue regulated heavy vehicle. Authorised officers required work records to be disclosed relating to the driver of heavy vehicle at Parramatta. In a 24-hour period the prescribed BFM maximum work time was 14 hours. The accused worked to total of 16 hours recorded. The offence constituted a critical risk breach.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $6,000
Fines under s 254(1)(a) on the register: $1,500 to $45,000, median $6,000 across 17 matters.
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-6d0749c237ab, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.