Individual AS 5880: fined $1,200, fatigue, 21 April 2023
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 5880. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 5880
The proceeding
- Decision
- Guilty, no conviction recorded
- Court
- Goulburn Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 21 April 2023
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 250(1)(a), s 250(1)(b)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 3
Facts
A heavy vehicle was intercepted at the Marulan South heavy vehicle safety station. Upon inspection of the accused’s Work Diary, multiple fatigue offences were detected, namely nine critical fatigue breaches and one substantial fatigue breach. The driver advised that it was their first Work Diary and that they had asked other drivers to explain, but that they didn’t understand it. At court, the driver explained that they had significant reading and writing difficulties, is affected by mental illness and came from a low-socioeconomic background. The driver has since purchased an Electronic Work Diary subscription. Taking into account these circumstances, the court dealt with this driver in a very unique way.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $1,200
Fines under s 250(1)(a) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters. Fines under s 250(1)(b) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-6e3a11c68a95, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.