Individual AS 7790: fined $6,000, fatigue, 9 June 2023
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 7790. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 7790
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Goulburn Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 9 June 2023
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 250(1)(a)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 3
Facts
The heavy vehicle was detected travelling between Safe-T-Cam sites in less than the allowable travel time. A Notice to Produce was sent to the operator of the heavy vehicle which required the operator to provide records for the driver of the vehicle, including any certificates of accreditation and work diary records. A response was received for the accused in a two-up operators of the heavy vehicle. The accused provided the relevant documents, and upon inspection of their Work Diary, breaches were identified where less than the permitted 10 hours in any 82-hour period. The accused has rested 1 hour and 15 minutes.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $6,000
Fines under s 250(1)(a) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order, 12 months
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-7072ecdaef75, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.