Individual AS 41738: fined $10,000, fatigue, 8 September 2024
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 41738. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 41738
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Campbelltown Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 8 September 2024
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 250(1)(b)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 1
Facts
NHVR officers intercepted the defendant driving a heavy vehicle through Minto on 13 May 2024. A check of their National Work Diary revealed that in the 24-hour period between 6pm on 9 May 2024 and 6pm on 10 May 2024 the accused had 4 hours and 30 minutes of continuous stationery rest time. The defendant failed to appear at 1st mention and at 2nd mention and the court proceeded to sentence ex-parte.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $10,000
Fines under s 250(1)(b) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters.
Educational point
Consider implementing Electronic Work Diaries for all drivers of fatigue-regulated heavy vehicles. Ensure all drivers have read and understood the instructions in the front of their National Driver Work Diary. Ensure all drivers have completed relevant training in fatigue management and that regular refresher courses are completed. Ensure drivers are familiar with time counting requirements under the HVNL, in line with instructional videos contained on the NHVR website. Prepare and provide driver schedules which include suggested break times and locations to ensure compliance with work and rest break requirements.
As reported by NHVR.
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-725ed5bd4ab7, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.