Defendant · no NHVR reference: fined $4,750, fatigue, 15 September 2021
Party
- Party
- Defendant · no NHVR reference. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Role
- Role not stated
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Maryborough
- Jurisdiction
- Queensland
- Hearing date
- 15 September 2021
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 254(1)(a)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 4
Facts
On 4 April 2021, Transport Inspectors intercepted the defendant driving a heavy vehicle combination travelling northbound on the Bruce Highway, at the Maryborough weigh site. Upon request, the defendant presented his work diary. The defendant was operating under Basic Fatigue Management hours as a solo driver. An inspection of the work diary revealed four instances where the defendant had exceeded permissible work hours: Facts in relation to Charge 1 The defendant had worked a total of 16 hrs in the 24hr period commencing at Townsville at 6pm on 8 February 2021 and ending at Yatala at 6pm on 9 February 2021, constituting a critical risk breach. Facts in relation to Charge 2 The defendant had worked a total of 16 hrs in the 24hr period commencing at Mackay at 10pm on 6 March 2021 and ending at Gin Gin at 10pm on 7 March 2021, constituting a critical risk breach. Facts in relation to Charge 3 The defendant had worked a total of 15 ¾ hrs in the 24hr period commencing at Yatala at 8:30pm on 17 March 2021 and ending between Bowen and Mount Saint John at 8:30pm on 18 March 2021, constituting a critical risk breach. Facts in relation to Charge 4 The driver had worked a total of 16 hrs in the 24hr period commencing at Yatala at 3pm on 27 March 2021 and ending
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $4,750
- Costs
- $100
Fines under s 254(1)(a) on the register: $1,500 to $45,000, median $6,000 across 17 matters.
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-72fca9c9e636, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.