← The register · Fatigue

NHVR court outcome, unnamedConvicted

Individual AS 8524: fined $2,000, fatigue, 19 September 2023

Party

Party
Individual AS 8524. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
Type
Individual
Role
Role not stated
Reference
AS 8524

The proceeding

Decision
Convicted
Court
Cootamundra Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
Jurisdiction
New South Wales
Hearing date
19 September 2023
Law
Heavy Vehicle National Law
Provisions
s 250(1)(a), s 250(1)(b)
Offence
Fatigue

Facts

The defendant was driving a heavy vehicle which was intercepted by Authorised Officers. Upon inspection, Authorised Officer identified two breaches of the defendant’s Work Diary where the defendant worked more than the standard maximum rest time; and rested less than the minimum required time. This was the defendant’s fourth breach for fatigue related offences.

As reported by NHVR.

Penalty

Fine
$2,000

Fines under s 250(1)(a) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters. Fines under s 250(1)(b) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters.

Orders

What the record would have shown

Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →

Comparable actions

DefendantOffenceJurisdictionDecisionDateRecord
Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd Fatigue VIC Prohibition notice; prohibition order Date not stated View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd Fatigue Not stated Prohibition notice; prohibition order Date not stated View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Georgia Campbell Other NSW Convicted, fined $5,000; other order 19 February 2025 View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025
Karl O’Sullivan Other NSW Convicted, fined $7,500 1 May 2024 View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024
Qube Ports Pty Ltd Mass NSW Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated

Sources

Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.

Register entry ea-73869ef33ab9, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.