← The register · False or misleading records
Individual AS 12600: fined $5,000, false or misleading records, 16 April 2024
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 12600. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 12600
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Blacktown Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 16 April 2024
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 325(1)
- Offence
- False or misleading records
Facts
The defendant was charged with making a false or misleading entry in their work record. On 12 September 2023 at Huntingwood the defendant produced a National Work Diary. The defendant recorded they were the driver of a fatigue regulated heavy vehicle and that they were resting at Dubbo from 10.45pm to 11.15pm on 11 September 2023. The defendant signed the work diary page declaring it to be true and correct. Such entry being false or misleading as the vehicle was sighted by Safe-T-Cam driving north on the Mitchell Highway at Cundumbul at 10.44pm.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $5,000
Fines under s 325(1) on the register: $300 to $45,000, median $6,275 across 44 matters.
Educational point
Ensure all drivers have read and understood the instructions in the front of their National Driver Work Diary. Ensure all drivers have read and understood the instructions in the front of their National Driver Work Diary. Ensure all drivers have completed relevant training in fatigue management and that regular refresher courses are completed.
As reported by NHVR.
What the record would have shown
Work diaries and transport records reconciled against independent data (fuel, tolls, telematics), with each discrepancy followed up. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
| Profect Construction Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $45,000 | 4 November 2025 | View the record of Profect Construction Pty Ltd, 4 November 2025 |
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-775d23f3e902, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.