← The register · Executive due diligence
Individual AS 65014: fined $18,000, executive due diligence, 28 September 2026
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 65014. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 65014
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Albury Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 28 September 2026
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 26D
- Offence
- Executive due diligence
- Charges
- 18
Facts
New South Wales Police intercepted a driver and it was found that the driver had breached HVNL Fatigue provisions on 18 occasions. An investigation into the employer Company was commenced by the NHVR during which it found that the Defendant failed to implement effective policies and procedures for the recruitment, training and management of the drivers they employed to conduct transport activities. The Defendant was the sole director of the company and failed to exercise due diligence to ensure the Company complied with the safety duty it owed
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $18,000
Educational point
The legislative provision that the Defendant is charged with is aimed at those in charge of corporate entities to ensure that they take responsibilities for heavy vehicles to make sure we are all safe. The key issues are that general and specific deterrence are paramount, and there needs to be meaningful fines imposed to send a message to others, not just this offender.
As reported by NHVR.
What the record would have shown
Board and executive minutes showing the transport risks were reported, questioned and resourced, each with a date. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Berry Raymond Campbell | Executive due diligence | NSW | Convicted, fined $45,000 | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Berry Raymond Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Individual · name withheld | Executive due diligence | QLD | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Individual, Date not stated |
| Individual · name withheld | Executive due diligence | QLD | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Individual, Date not stated |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-78e123592b7e, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.