← The register · False or misleading records
Individual AS 4226: convicted, false or misleading records, 23 February 2023
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 4226. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Driver
- Reference
- AS 4226
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Port Augusta Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- South Australia
- Hearing date
- 23 February 2023
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 701, s 702, s 568
- Offence
- False or misleading records
Facts
Upon being intercepted while driving, the defendant was requested to produce their Work Diary to officers. They refused to do so, stating that they had lost the diary. They then provided inaccurate supplementary Work Diary sheets to the officers. Upon searching the cabin, the officers located their Work Diary. The defendant was subsequently charged with making a false statement, providing false documents, and also failing to comply with a direction issued by officers. The defendant had a significant history of heavy vehicle related offending involving providing false or misleading information to officials, failing to record work activity, failure to comply with lawful directions and exceeding allowable work hours. An application was made to the court to impose a Supervisory Intervention Order (SIO) on the defendant based on their ongoing, persistent offending.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- Not stated
Fines under s 701 on the register: $5,000 to $8,500, median $6,000 across 3 matters. Fines under s 702 on the register: $4,800 to $14,000, median $9,000 across 4 matters. Fines under s 568 on the register: $5,000 to $45,000, median $45,000 across 3 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order, 6 months
What the record would have shown
Work diaries and transport records reconciled against independent data (fuel, tolls, telematics), with each discrepancy followed up. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Profect Construction Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $45,000 | 4 November 2025 | View the record of Profect Construction Pty Ltd, 4 November 2025 |
| Kellogg (Aust) Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $510,000 | 19 September 2025 | View the record of Kellogg (Aust) Pty Ltd, 19 September 2025 |
| MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd | Other | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | 16 May 2025 | View the record of MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd, 16 May 2025 |
| MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd | Other | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | 16 May 2025 | View the record of MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd, 16 May 2025 |
| State Asphalt Services Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $450,000 | 21 March 2025 | View the record of State Asphalt Services Pty Ltd, 21 March 2025 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-7cefcecc7738, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.