Individual AS 64698: fined $13,000, fatigue, 28 August 2026
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 64698. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 64698
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Brisbane Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- Queensland
- Hearing date
- 28 August 2026
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 250(1)(a)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 20
Facts
On 29 October 2025 a driver of a fatigue regulated heavy vehicle was intercepted in Etna Creek. A compliance check of his national driver work diary indicated he had been operating under BFM hours and had worked 14 hours in a 24 hour period on 20 occasions over a two month period. The driver produced BFM accreditation documents for a previous employer, however had since started working for a new employer. The driver was deemed to be operating under standard hours as they had not been inducted into the new employer’s BFM system. The driver was charged with 20 counts of solo driver work more than maximum standard time – critical risk. The court accepted the defendant’s remorse and good character references. It was accepted that they thought they could work 14 hours in a 24-hour period.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $13,000
Fines under s 250(1)(a) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters.
Educational point
Operators should be aware that ongoing cases such as this leads to a possible investigation into whether their operations are safe and possible prosecution for breaches of safety duties.
As reported by NHVR.
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-7d9863643b2a, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.