Individual AS 4228: fined $11,129, fatigue, 27 November 2023
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 4228. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 4228
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Elizabeth Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- South Australia
- Hearing date
- 27 November 2023
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 250(1)(a), s 250(1)(b)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 5
Facts
The defendant was intercepted by South Australian police in 2021. Further investigations were undertaken by the NHVR which detected multiple critical fatigue offences over the course of a period of six months. Following negotiations between NHVR prosecutions, and the defendant’s solicitor, the defendant plead guilty to all five offences and voluntarily entered into a Supervisory Intervention Order (“SIO”) which requires them to report their work activity to the NHVR for a period of 6 months. Convictions were recorded on all five counts. The magistrate also imposed a significant financial penalty exceeding $10,000 but suspended part of that penalty upon the defendant entering into the SIO. If the defendant fails to comply with the terms of the SIO, they will be liable for the full penalty.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $11,129
Fines under s 250(1)(a) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters. Fines under s 250(1)(b) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order, 6 months
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-7e7908619ca6, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.