← The register · Load restraint
Individual · no NHVR reference: fined $750, load restraint, 20 April 2021
Party
- Party
- Individual · no NHVR reference. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Driver
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Broadmeadows Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- Victoria
- Hearing date
- 20 April 2021
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 111(1), s 102(1)(b) HVNL width, s 102(1)(b) HVNL height, s 102(1)(b) HVNL rear overhang
- Offence
- Load restraint
Facts
A driver was intercepted driving a heavy vehicle. It was revealed that the vehicle had breached its loading requirements and dimension requirements. The vehicle was loaded with a Tautliner truck body and chassis and other metal items. The vehicle was only secured by a single 1x50mm strap, and the items on the tray of the truck were loose and completely unrestrained. It was also revealed that the vehicles dimension requirements were not complied with. The permitted width was 2.5m, with an excess width of 380mm. The permitted height was 4.3m, with an excess height of 270mm. The permitted rear overhang was 3.33m, with an excess rear overhang of 1,020mm. The Defendant had priors for minor risk dimension and loading offences against the Heavy Vehicle National Law
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $750
Fines under s 111(1) on the register: $750 to $13,000, median $5,000 across 7 matters. Fines under s 102(1)(b) HVNL width on the register: $500 to $70,000, median $6,300 across 40 matters. Fines under s 102(1)(b) HVNL height on the register: $500 to $70,000, median $6,300 across 40 matters. Fines under s 102(1)(b) HVNL rear overhang on the register: $500 to $70,000, median $6,300 across 40 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order, 12 months
What the record would have shown
The restraint method for the load as carried, checked against the Load Restraint Guide before departure, signed and dated. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| J.J. Richards & Sons Pty Ltd | Load restraint | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of J.J. Richards & Sons Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Individual · name withheld | Mass | VIC | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Individual, Date not stated |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-821abf3899c8, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.