← The register · Fatigue

NHVR court outcome, unnamedConvicted

Individual AS 4621, 4775: fined $5,000, fatigue, 26 May 2023

Party

Party
Individual AS 4621, 4775. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
Type
Individual
Role
Driver
Reference
AS 4621, 4775

The proceeding

Decision
Convicted
Court
Elizabeth Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
Jurisdiction
South Australia
Hearing date
26 May 2023
Law
Heavy Vehicle National Law
Provisions
s 568(3), s 701(1), s 296(1), s 325(1)
Offence
Fatigue
Charges
6

Facts

The defendant was intercepted by South Australia police in June 2022, at which time they denied that they had their Work Diary with them. This constituted the basis of the accused’s offending for failing to comply with a direction to produce a Work Diary, and also making a false or misleading statement to an authorised official. Upon discovery of the accused's Work Diary in the vehicle, police officers identified Work Diary offences comprising the defendant’s failure to record work activity. In addition to this, an NHVR Safe-T-Cam detected further offending which resulted in two charges of making false or misleading entries in a work diary.

As reported by NHVR.

Penalty

Fine
$5,000

Fines under s 568(3) on the register: $5,000 to $45,000, median $45,000 across 3 matters. Fines under s 701(1) on the register: $5,000 to $8,500, median $6,000 across 3 matters. Fines under s 296(1) on the register: $3,500 to $22,300, median $8,865 across 4 matters. Fines under s 325(1) on the register: $300 to $45,000, median $6,275 across 44 matters.

What the record would have shown

Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →

Comparable actions

DefendantOffenceJurisdictionDecisionDateRecord
Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd Fatigue VIC Prohibition notice; prohibition order Date not stated View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd Fatigue Not stated Prohibition notice; prohibition order Date not stated View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Georgia Campbell Other NSW Convicted, fined $5,000; other order 19 February 2025 View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025
Karl O’Sullivan Other NSW Convicted, fined $7,500 1 May 2024 View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024
Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd Primary duty NSW Convicted, fined $38,000 11 November 2024 View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024

Sources

Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.

Register entry ea-83558cc8c2a4, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.