← The register · Vehicle standards
Company AS 69526: fined $5,000, vehicle standards, 9 October 2026
Party
- Party
- Company AS 69526. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Company
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 69526
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Goulburn Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 9 October 2026
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 529(a)
- Offence
- Vehicle standards
Facts
On 15 July 2026, authorised officers of the NHVR observed a heavy vehicle travelling on Hume Highway, Marulan New South Wales. The authorised officers spoke to the driver at the Heavy Vehicle Checking Station and inspected the vehicle, its components and its load. Authorised officers conducted a registration check and identified an outstanding minor Defect Notice issued on 9 July 2026. The Defect Notice was issued in relation to axle one on both the right and left sides for excessive spring shackle movement at the lower bush/pin area, and required repair and clearance by an authorised inspection station. The Defect Notice was to be cleared within 4 days of the Defect Notice being issued, which had expired at 9:40am on 13 July 2026. At the time of the intercept, 15 July 2026, the defects on the vehicle were still outstanding. Section 529(a) of the Heavy Vehicle National Law (HVNL) prohibits a person from permitting the use of a heavy vehicle on a road in contravention of a vehicle Defect Notice. The Court noted the defendant has a history of non-compliance. Having regard to the company’s history of previous non-compliance, the matter proceeded to court, where the defendant was convicted and fined. The Court also ordered the suspension of the vehicle’s registration for a period of six months.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $5,000
Fines under s 529(a) on the register: $5,000 to $45,000, median $17,000 across 4 matters.
Educational point
Section 598 of the HVNL empowers the Court to cancel or suspend a vehicle’s registration in specified circumstances, including where a person is convicted of an offence involving a mass, dimension or loading requirement that constitutes a severe risk breach, or any other offence against the HVNL that does not relate to a contravention of a mass, dimension or loading requirement. In this matter, the offence concerned a minor vehicle defect and could have been dealt with by way of a Penalty Infringement Notice (PIN). However, having regard to the company’s history of previous non-compliance, the matter proceeded to court, where the defendant was convicted and fined. This outcome highlights the significance of an operator’s ongoing failure to address identified vehicle defects and comply with regulatory requirements. It also demonstrates that continued vehicle use despite an unresolved Defect Notice, particularly when considered alongside a history of prior non-compliance, may result in consequences beyond the imposition of a financial penalty, including the suspension of vehicle registration.
As reported by NHVR.
What the record would have shown
Each defect check and repair, dated, with the repair recorded before the vehicle went back to work. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
| Profect Construction Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $45,000 | 4 November 2025 | View the record of Profect Construction Pty Ltd, 4 November 2025 |
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-84f9e90c2064, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.