Individual AS 59648: fined $4,500, fatigue, 12 May 2025
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 59648. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 59648
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Parramatta Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 12 May 2025
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 250(1)(a), s 250(1)(b)
- Offence
- Fatigue
Facts
On 2 June 2024, the accused was found to have committed two critical fatigue-related breaches under the Heavy Vehicle National Law (HVNL). Over a 24-hour period, they worked 16 hours and 30 minutes—exceeding the 12-hour legal limit—and took only 3 hours of continuous rest instead of the required 7 hours. The breaches were detected through analysis of Safe-T-Cam data and the accused’s work diary, which had been provided by the vehicle’s operator in response to a notice to produce. The conduct posed a critical fatigue risk, and the accused was also issued a penalty notice for a separate, minor work-time offence.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $4,500
Fines under s 250(1)(a) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters. Fines under s 250(1)(b) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters.
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-942201915581, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.