NHVR court outcome, unnamedConvicted
Individual AS 24975: fined $10,000, fatigue, 28 August 2024
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 24975. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 24975
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Gosford Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 28 August 2024
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 254(1)(b)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 1
Facts
In any 24-hour period, the minimum rest time is 7 continuous hours of stationary rest time. Upon inspection of the Work Diary a breach of the HVNL was identified for the period between 8:30am on 23 August 2023 and 8:30am on 24 August 2023 when the accused had only 4 hours of continuous stationary rest time.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $10,000
Fines under s 254(1)(b) on the register: $1,500 to $45,000, median $6,000 across 17 matters.
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-95429b4bdfec, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.