← The register · Fatigue

NHVR court outcome, unnamedConvicted

Individual AS 9428: fined $3,900, fatigue, 8 December 2023

Party

Party
Individual AS 9428. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
Type
Individual
Role
Role not stated
Reference
AS 9428

The proceeding

Decision
Convicted
Court
Goulburn Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
Jurisdiction
New South Wales
Hearing date
8 December 2023
Law
Heavy Vehicle National Law
Provisions
s 250(1)(a)
Offence
Fatigue

Facts

In the 24-period from 7.00pm on 20 July 2023 and 7.00pm on 21 July 2023 the offender did work for 16 hours and 45 minutes. Maximum work hours permitted 12 hours. In the 24-hour period 7.00pm 20 July 2023 to 7.00pm 21 July 2023 the offender did rest for 5 hours. Minimum required rest hours is 7 hours. In the 24-period from 7.00pm 24 July 2023 and 7.00pm 25 July 2023 the offender did work for 14 hours and 45 minutes. Maximum work hours permitted 12 hours. In the 24-hour period 5.00pm 27 July 2023 to 5.00pm 28 July 2023 the offender did rest for 4 hours. Minimum required rest hours is 7 hours

As reported by NHVR.

Penalty

Fine
$3,900

Fines under s 250(1)(a) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters.

Orders

What the record would have shown

Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →

Comparable actions

DefendantOffenceJurisdictionDecisionDateRecord
Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd Fatigue VIC Prohibition notice; prohibition order Date not stated View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd Fatigue Not stated Prohibition notice; prohibition order Date not stated View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Georgia Campbell Other NSW Convicted, fined $5,000; other order 19 February 2025 View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025
Karl O’Sullivan Other NSW Convicted, fined $7,500 1 May 2024 View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024
Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd Primary duty NSW Convicted, fined $38,000 11 November 2024 View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024

Sources

Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.

Register entry ea-97e7d953227d, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.