Individual AS 6168: fined $2,500, fatigue, 4 April 2023
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 6168. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 6168
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Campbelltown Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 4 April 2023
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 250(1)(a)
- Offence
- Fatigue
Facts
A driver was intercepted at Marulan by NHVR Authorised Officers and his Work Diary inspected. Between 6:00am on 31 October 2022 and 6:00am on 1 November 2022, the accused worked for a total of 14 hours, exceeding their standard work hours by 2 hours resulting in a critical risk breach. The accused stated they didn’t understand their Work Diary and calculated their hours a different way to the NHVR Authorised Officers.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $2,500
Fines under s 250(1)(a) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order, 12 months
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-a5eb9d25d06d, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.