Individual AS 8857: fined $7,000, fatigue, 1 March 2024
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 8857. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 8857
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Newcastle Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 1 March 2024
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 325(1), s 250(1)(a), s 250(1)(b)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 2
Facts
The defendant was charged with one charge of making a false or misleading entry offence, and two fatigue related offences. The defendant did not appear at sentence. The NHVR submitted that the false and misleading entry offences masked the fatigue offences, which posed a risk to public safety. NHVR noted the defendant’s two prior HVNL convictions.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $7,000
Fines under s 325(1) on the register: $300 to $45,000, median $6,275 across 44 matters. Fines under s 250(1)(a) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters. Fines under s 250(1)(b) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters.
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-a8d85aa212cf, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.