Individual AS 8720: fined $4,000, fatigue, 6 November 2023
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 8720. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 8720
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Hay Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 6 November 2023
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 254(1)(a)
- Offence
- Fatigue
Facts
The defendant was driving a heavy vehicle which was intercepted by Authorised Officers for an inspection. Upon inspection, Authorised Officers detected a breach of the defendant’s Work Diary where the defendant had worked for a total of 18 hours and 30 minutes, when the maximum permissible work hours are 14 hours under basic fatigue management. This breach constituted a critical risk breach.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $4,000
Fines under s 254(1)(a) on the register: $1,500 to $45,000, median $6,000 across 17 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order, 6 months
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-b1b79e57d5bc, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.