Individual AS 60109: fined $4,500, fatigue, 29 July 2025
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 60109. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 60109
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Rockhampton Magistrate Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- Queensland
- Hearing date
- 29 July 2025
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 604
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 2
Facts
On 22 October 2024, at Rockhampton Magistrates Court, the Accused was sentenced for one breach of the HVNL. The offence related to the Accused working more than the prescribed maximum work time for standard hours in the 24-hour period between 7pm on 17 January 2024 and 7 pm on 18 January 2024, namely 14 hours 45 minutes. This was a critical risk breach. The Accused was sentenced to a $2,400 fine and ordered to pay $250 costs. The Court also made a supervisory intervention order (SIO) for 6 months. The SIO required the Accused to provide their contact details to the NHVR, to purchase an electronic work diary (EWD) and send records of the EWD’s usage to the NHVR and undertake specific training courses. The Accused notified the NHVR of their contact details and purchased the EWD. The Accused breached the SIO by not using the EWD and not providing records of any usage. The Accused did not undertake the required training or any training. The Accused had a history of non-compliance. Despite multiple reminders from the NHVR, the Accused made no effort to meet these legal obligations.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $4,500
Fines under s 604 on the register: $4,500 to $20,000, median $12,000 across 3 matters.
Orders
- Disqualification, 9 months
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-bd46a9c05ae1, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.