Individual AS 7249: fined $2,000, fatigue, 24 May 2023
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 7249. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 7249
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Gosford Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 24 May 2023
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 250(1)(b), s 325(1)
- Offence
- Fatigue
Facts
A heavy vehicle was intercepted on Pacific Highway at Mount White in NSW by NHVR Authorised Officers. Authorised Officers inspected the accused’s Work Diary which revealed two breaches of the HVNL. The first breach was for working over the maximum period in a 24-hour period. The driver had worked for 14 hours and 30 minutes when they were only permitted to work 12 hours. The second breach was for a false and misleading entry. The accused stated they were resting from 12:00am to 7:00am, however, the accused was detected on a road via Safe-T-Cam 33.6 kilometres from where the accused stated they were resting.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $2,000
- Costs
- $204
Fines under s 250(1)(b) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters. Fines under s 325(1) on the register: $300 to $45,000, median $6,275 across 44 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order, 6 months
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-be9e9b8f180b, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.