← The register · False or misleading records
Individual AS 62415: convicted, false or misleading records, 9 October 2025
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 62415. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 62415
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Parkes Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 9 October 2025
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 325(1), s 702(1), s 53(1)(a) Road Transport Act (NSW)
- Offence
- False or misleading records
Facts
A heavy vehicle driver was intercepted by authorised officers of the National Heavy Vehicle Regulator (NHVR) during a roadside operation in New South Wales. Subsequent investigations found that the driver had made false entries in their work diary, recording rest periods when the vehicle was later confirmed to be in operation. The driver also produced a heavy vehicle licence that had previously been downgraded following a medical review. Checks with the relevant state licensing authority confirmed that the driver no longer held the class of licence required to operate the vehicle at the time of the intercept. The driver was charged with multiple offences under the Heavy Vehicle National Law and the Road Transport Act 2013 (NSW), including making false or misleading work diary entries, providing a false or misleading document to officials, and driving while unlicensed for the class of vehicle. The matter highlights the importance of accurate work diary records and ensuring drivers hold the correct class of licence before operating a heavy vehicle.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- Not stated
Fines under s 325(1) on the register: $300 to $45,000, median $6,275 across 44 matters. Fines under s 702(1) on the register: $4,800 to $14,000, median $9,000 across 4 matters.
What the record would have shown
Work diaries and transport records reconciled against independent data (fuel, tolls, telematics), with each discrepancy followed up. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Profect Construction Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $45,000 | 4 November 2025 | View the record of Profect Construction Pty Ltd, 4 November 2025 |
| Kellogg (Aust) Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $510,000 | 19 September 2025 | View the record of Kellogg (Aust) Pty Ltd, 19 September 2025 |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Some fields are blank because the source does not state them or they could not be matched to its text. Nothing on this page is estimated.
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-bfaa8f171ff3, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.