Individual AS 8037: fined $9,750, fatigue, 21 September 2023
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 8037. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 8037
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Parramatta Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 21 September 2023
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 251(1)(b)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 2
Facts
The defendant was detected via Safe-T-Cam monitoring. For two offences, the defendant was detected to be driving for a 52-hour period, where 10 hours continuous rest is the mandatory time. However, the defendant’s longest rest was 5 hours and 45 minutes for one charge, and 4 hours and 30 minutes for the second charge. These offences were in the critical fatigue category.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $9,750
Fines under s 251(1)(b) on the register: $9,750 to $10,000, median $10,000 across 3 matters.
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-c3d7f4966c89, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.