NHVR court outcome, unnamedConvicted
Individual AS 12831: fined $5,000, fatigue, 27 June 2024
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 12831. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 12831
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Port Augusta Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- South Australia
- Hearing date
- 27 June 2024
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 325(1)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 6
Facts
The defendant’s entries in their work diary did not correspond with camera sightings and fuel records.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $5,000
Fines under s 325(1) on the register: $300 to $45,000, median $6,275 across 44 matters.
Educational point
Ensure drivers are aware that refuelling is classed as work under the HVNL.
As reported by NHVR.
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-c8af0bf7c18f, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.