← The register · Fatigue

NHVR court outcome, unnamedConvicted

Individual AS 7762: fined $9,354, fatigue, 24 June 2024

Party

Party
Individual AS 7762. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
Type
Individual
Role
Role not stated
Reference
AS 7762

The proceeding

Decision
Convicted
Court
Ceduna Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
Jurisdiction
South Australia
Hearing date
24 June 2024
Law
Heavy Vehicle National Law
Provisions
s 325(1), s 322(2)
Offence
Fatigue
Charges
2

Facts

On 4 February 2023, authorised officers of the NHVR intercepted a heavy vehicle, namely a prime mover, towing a lead trailer and second trailer, travelling on Eyre Highway in Penong in the State of South Australia. The authorised officers inspected the driver’s National Driver Work Diary and detected the offences.

As reported by NHVR.

Penalty

Fine
$9,354

Fines under s 325(1) on the register: $300 to $45,000, median $6,275 across 44 matters. Fines under s 322(2) on the register: $6,490 to $12,730, median $9,354 across 3 matters.

Educational point

Ensure all drivers have completed relevant training in fatigue management and that regular refresher courses are completed. Ensure that duplicate copies of National Driver Work Diary pages are supplied to the relevant record keeper and are routinely audited for accuracy and compliance.

As reported by NHVR.

What the record would have shown

Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →

Comparable actions

DefendantOffenceJurisdictionDecisionDateRecord
Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd Fatigue VIC Prohibition notice; prohibition order Date not stated View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd Fatigue Not stated Prohibition notice; prohibition order Date not stated View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Karl O’Sullivan Other NSW Convicted, fined $7,500 1 May 2024 View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024
Georgia Campbell Other NSW Convicted, fined $5,000; other order 19 February 2025 View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025
Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd Primary duty NSW Convicted, fined $38,000 11 November 2024 View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024

Sources

Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.

Register entry ea-cce61421ad6f, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.