← The register · Fatigue

NHVR court outcome, unnamedConvicted

Individual AS 7948, 8605: fined $4,800, fatigue, 21 September 2023

Party

Party
Individual AS 7948, 8605. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
Type
Individual
Role
Role not stated
Reference
AS 7948, 8605

The proceeding

Decision
Convicted
Court
Parkes Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
Jurisdiction
New South Wales
Hearing date
21 September 2023
Law
Heavy Vehicle National Law
Provisions
s 250(1)(b), critical, s 250(1)(a)
Offence
Fatigue
Charges
4

Facts

Authorised Officers intercepted a heavy vehicle which was operated by the defendant and carried out an inspection. Upon inspection, Authorised Officers detected four fatigue related offences in the defendant’s Work Diary. For one of the offences, the defendant’s longest continuous rest period was five hours, and three offences where the defendant exceeded the permissible maximum hours work hours. All four offences were in the critical risk category.

As reported by NHVR.

Penalty

Fine
$4,800

Fines under s 250(1)(b) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters. Fines under critical on the register: $4,800 to $6,832, median $6,490 across 3 matters. Fines under s 250(1)(a) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters.

Orders

What the record would have shown

Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →

Comparable actions

DefendantOffenceJurisdictionDecisionDateRecord
Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd Fatigue VIC Prohibition notice; prohibition order Date not stated View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd Fatigue Not stated Prohibition notice; prohibition order Date not stated View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Georgia Campbell Other NSW Convicted, fined $5,000; other order 19 February 2025 View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025
Karl O’Sullivan Other NSW Convicted, fined $7,500 1 May 2024 View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024
Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd Primary duty NSW Convicted, fined $38,000 11 November 2024 View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024

Sources

Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.

Register entry ea-cd97d0d7093c, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.