Individual · no NHVR reference: fined $6,554, fatigue, 12 December 2022
Party
- Party
- Individual · no NHVR reference. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Driver
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Port Augusta Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- South Australia
- Hearing date
- 12 December 2022
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 250(1)(a), s 325(1), s 228
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 4
Facts
The defendant was charged with two counts of exceeding their allowable work hours, one count of making false or misleading entries in their work diary and one count of driving whilst fatigued.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $6,554
Fines under s 250(1)(a) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters. Fines under s 325(1) on the register: $300 to $45,000, median $6,275 across 44 matters. Fines under s 228 on the register: $2,500 to $6,554, median $4,000 across 3 matters.
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-cfe1fa71d863, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.