← The register · False or misleading records
Individual AS 23456: fined $6,000, false or misleading records, 9 May 2024
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 23456. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 23456
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Parkes Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 9 May 2024
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 542(1), s 325(1)
- Offence
- False or misleading records
- Charges
- 3
Facts
On 7 December 2023 Police intercepted a heavy vehicle in Parkes and gave the driver a written direction to cease work and to rest from 2:30pm until 9:30pm. The vehicle was subsequently intercepted at 9:13pm in Daroobalgie by NHVR Officers who found that the driver had made a false and misleading record in their work diary that between 1:45pm and 9:30pm they rested in Parkes. The driver made a false and misleading entry in their work diary by recording that between 5pm on 5 December 2023 and 4am on 6 December 2023 they rested in Coonabarabran when their vehicle was sighted by Safe-T-Cam at 3:02am on 6 December 2023 at Boggabilla.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $6,000
Fines under s 325(1) on the register: $300 to $45,000, median $6,275 across 44 matters.
What the record would have shown
Work diaries and transport records reconciled against independent data (fuel, tolls, telematics), with each discrepancy followed up. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
| Profect Construction Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $45,000 | 4 November 2025 | View the record of Profect Construction Pty Ltd, 4 November 2025 |
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-cff1614e184f, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.