← The register · Load restraint
Individual · no NHVR reference: fined $13,000, load restraint, 19 September 2019
Party
- Party
- Individual · no NHVR reference. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Driver
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Horsham Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- Victoria
- Hearing date
- 19 September 2019
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 96(1), s 111(1)
- Offence
- Load restraint
Facts
Driver intercepted in a heavy vehicle with observation that the vehicle may be overloaded and also observed no load restraint covering the load of soil, which was loaded over the waterline. Heavy vehicle was weighed on portable weighing devices and found to be loaded at 121% of it mass, thus a severe risk mass breach. Penalty: Fine: $13,000 global penalty
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $13,000
Fines under s 96(1) on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters. Fines under s 111(1) on the register: $750 to $13,000, median $5,000 across 7 matters.
What the record would have shown
The restraint method for the load as carried, checked against the Load Restraint Guide before departure, signed and dated. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| J.J. Richards & Sons Pty Ltd | Load restraint | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of J.J. Richards & Sons Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Individual · name withheld | Mass | VIC | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Individual, Date not stated |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-d0d403fe33c0, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.