Individual AS 4456: fined $1,600, fatigue, 7 October 2022
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 4456. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 4456
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Goulburn Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 7 October 2022
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 584(1)(a)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 1
Facts
The accused was charged with 1 count of obstructing an authorised officer etc exercising power under law. On 27 June 2022, the accused was directed to enter the Heavy Vehicle Safety Station at Marulan. The Regulator’s authorised officers commenced exercising the power to inspect the heavy vehicle and to inspect the work diary. Her Honour convicted the accused and agreed the officers were obstructed not only from exercising the power, but from providing education to the accused. She noted that there was a strong need for general deterrence due to the risk to safety. Her Honour agreed there was an extensive history and that there was evidently a positive disregard by the accused of his professional obligations and of public safety. She agreed there was a concern that, without imposing a Supervisory Intervention Order (SIO), there was a risk for further offending.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $1,600
Fines under s 584(1)(a) on the register: $1,600 to $45,000, median $3,035 across 4 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order, 12 months
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-e144f1250de0, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.