Individual AS 4796: fined $12,000, fatigue, 7 October 2022
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 4796. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 4796
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Goulburn Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 7 October 2022
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 250(1)(a), s 250(1)(b)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 2
Facts
The accused was charged with 1 count of working more than standard hours (critical risk breach) and 1 count of resting less than minimum hours (critical risk breach). In the 24-hour period between 13:30 on 13 June 2022 and 13:30 on 14 June 2022, the accused recorded that he worked a total of 19 hours and 15 minutes, and rested for a continuous period of 2 hours and 45 minutes. Her Honour agreed the offences were made out and proceeded to sentence. Before doing so, Her Honour commented “I don’t think I’ve ever seen that many hours of work in a 24-hour period before.” The accused had no prior heavy vehicle record.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $12,000
Fines under s 250(1)(a) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters. Fines under s 250(1)(b) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters.
Prior history
The source states no prior history.
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-e4a751bea7bd, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.