Individual AS 4876: fined $1,250, fatigue, 7 February 2023
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 4876. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 4876
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Parramatta Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 7 February 2023
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 250(1)(a)
- Offence
- Fatigue
Facts
The defendant charged for driving 15 hours in a 24-hour period, when the maximum allowable work hours for them was 12 hours. The breach was discovered by authorised officers inspecting the defendant’s Work Diary during a routine inspection at a safety station. The charge was listed for a contested hearing. After discussions with the prosecutor, the defendant pleaded guilty on the morning of the hearing. At sentence, the NHVR submitted: The defendant did not understand that multiple 24-hour work periods can operate at the same time when counting work hours. The defendant, therefore, did not have an excuse to the charge but it explained the offending. The defendant had prior similar offences on their traffic record and only a fine would be appropriate. The defendant consented to a Supervisory Intervention Order (SIO) requiring them to undertake training about how to fill in a Work Diary. This was to be taken into account by the court when determining an amount for the fine.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $1,250
Fines under s 250(1)(a) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order, 6 months
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-e5a01bfebad0, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.