Individual AS 5558: fined $8,500, fatigue, 9 October 2023
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 5558. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 5558
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Port Adelaide Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- South Australia
- Hearing date
- 9 October 2023
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 325(1), s 701(1)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 4
Facts
A heavy vehicle was intercepted by Authorised Officers for a compliance check. Authorised Officers asked to for the driver’s Work Diary, which the driver did not have. Authorised Officers searched the vehicle and located the driver’s Work Diary and also discovered supplementary records.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $8,500
Fines under s 325(1) on the register: $300 to $45,000, median $6,275 across 44 matters. Fines under s 701(1) on the register: $5,000 to $8,500, median $6,000 across 3 matters.
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-e7bda1eb1af9, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.