Individual AS 5393: fined $2,000, fatigue, 19 May 2023
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 5393. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 5393
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Goulburn Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 19 May 2023
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 254(1)(b)
- Offence
- Fatigue
Facts
A heavy vehicle was intercepted at Marulan Heavy Vehicle Safety Station. Upon inspection of the accused’s National Work Diary, NHVR authorised officers identified a breach of their work hours between 12:30am on 3 September 2022 and 12:30am on 4 September 2022. The driver had only rested for a continuous period of 5 hours when they were required to rest 7 hours. The driver said that their hours had been pushed out by waiting around for loading.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $2,000
- Costs
- $102
Fines under s 254(1)(b) on the register: $1,500 to $45,000, median $6,000 across 17 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order, 12 months
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-fb3dc51ccffd, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.