NHVR court outcome, unnamedConvicted
Individual · no NHVR reference: fined $2,500, fatigue, 4 September 2018
Party
- Party
- Individual · no NHVR reference. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Driver
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Ceduna Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- South Australia
- Hearing date
- 4 September 2018
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 228(1)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 1
Facts
A solo heavy vehicle driver was charged with one count of driving while fatigued. He had been observed driving on the wrong side of the road at various times over about a 10 minute period. His licence was disqualified as he posed a significant public risk.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $2,500
Fines under s 228(1) on the register: $2,500 to $6,554, median $4,000 across 3 matters.
Orders
- Disqualification, 3 months
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd | Other | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | 16 May 2025 | View the record of MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd, 16 May 2025 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-04cc4a1db617, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.