Individual AS 6502: fined $500, fatigue, 23 June 2023
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 6502. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 6502
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Elizabeth Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- South Australia
- Hearing date
- 23 June 2023
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 258(1)(b)
- Offence
- Fatigue
Facts
The offender was operating under an Advanced Fatigue Management (AFM) accreditation which specifies in the certificate of accreditation stated that: in any 24-hour period, a driver must not work for more than 15 hours and 20 minutes; and must not rest for less than 8 hours and 30 minutes which includes 6 continuous hours of stationary rest. Upon inspection of the offender’s Work Diary, authorised officers identified a breach between 3 September 2022 and 4 September 2022, when the offender had failed to comply with the AFM rest requirements. In the 24-hour period, the offender only rested for 4 continuous hours and a total rest time of 8 hours.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $500
- Costs
- $250
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order, 12 months
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd | Other | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | 16 May 2025 | View the record of MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd, 16 May 2025 |
| MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd | Other | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | 16 May 2025 | View the record of MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd, 16 May 2025 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-106424f792ee, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.