← The register · False or misleading records

NHVR court outcome, unnamedConvicted

Individual AS 3463: fined $2,800, false or misleading records, 15 February 2024

Party

Party
Individual AS 3463. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
Type
Individual
Role
Role not stated
Reference
AS 3463

The proceeding

Decision
Convicted
Court
Elizabeth Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
Jurisdiction
South Australia
Hearing date
15 February 2024
Law
Heavy Vehicle National Law
Provisions
s 325(1), make false, misleading entry in work diary
Offence
False or misleading records

Facts

The defendant recorded on a work diary page that he was resting at a time when the vehicle he was driving was detected driving by Safe-T-Cam. The defendant contested the matter and it went to trial. The prosecution led the case that the Safe-T-Cam photograph established that the defendant was driving the vehicle when he recorded he was resting in his work diary. The defendant was unable to offer a defence and the magistrate found that the prosecution had proved the charge.

As reported by NHVR.

Penalty

Fine
$2,800

Fines under s 325(1) on the register: $300 to $45,000, median $6,275 across 44 matters.

What the record would have shown

Work diaries and transport records reconciled against independent data (fuel, tolls, telematics), with each discrepancy followed up. How the record works →

Comparable actions

DefendantOffenceJurisdictionDecisionDateRecord
Georgia Campbell Other NSW Convicted, fined $5,000; other order 19 February 2025 View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025
Karl O’Sullivan Other NSW Convicted, fined $7,500 1 May 2024 View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024
MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd Other Not stated Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking 16 May 2025 View the record of MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd, 16 May 2025
MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd Other Not stated Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking 16 May 2025 View the record of MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd, 16 May 2025
Austral Masonry Pty Ltd Other Not stated Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking 25 January 2025 View the record of Austral Masonry Pty Ltd, 25 January 2025

Sources

Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.

Register entry ea-1b943543c582, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.