Defendant · no NHVR reference: fined $1,750, fatigue, 18 January 2022
Party
- Party
- Defendant · no NHVR reference. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Role
- Role not stated
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Toowoomba Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- Queensland
- Hearing date
- 18 January 2022
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- HVNL(Q), s 250(1)(a), s 250(1)(b)
- Offence
- Fatigue
Facts
On 22 July 2021, Transport inspectors intercepted a Hino rigid truck on the Cunningham Highway east of Goondiwindi. The defendant presented his work diary for inspection, and was operating under standard hours. Facts in relation to Charge 1 The defendant's records revealed that in the preceding 24-hour period, the defendant had worked a total of 16 ½ hours. This constituted a critical risk breach. Facts in relation to Charge 2 The defendant's records also showed that in the preceding 24-hour period, the defendant had only completed a period of three continuous hours rest. This also constituted a critical risk breach. When questioned regarding the content of his work diary, the defendant stated that he does not drive heavy vehicles often, and was unsure of the total amount of time that he was allowed to work or rest during a 24-hour period.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $1,750
Fines under s 250(1)(a) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters. Fines under s 250(1)(b) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters.
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd | Other | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | 16 May 2025 | View the record of MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd, 16 May 2025 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-799913d51715, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.