← The register · False or misleading records
Individual AS 4638: fined $1,050, false or misleading records, 14 February 2023
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 4638. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Driver
- Reference
- AS 4638
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Port Adelaide Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- South Australia
- Hearing date
- 14 February 2023
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 325(1)
- Offence
- False or misleading records
Facts
On 1 March 2022, the defendant drove a fatigue-regulated heavy vehicle and Safety Compliance Officers (SCOs) intercepted it for compliance checks. The defendant told the SCOs that they had to falsify their Work Diary to ensure they would return to their work base on time. An investigation of their Work Diary pages revealed five false or misleading entries, but they did not overwork except for one minor breach. The defendant submitted in mitigation that they were not trying to mislead, as they genuinely misunderstood the Work Diary requirements. They were remorseful and agreed to a fine and Supervisory Intervention Order (SIO). Penalty: Fine: $1,050; 5 x of Victim of Crime (VOC) levy totalling $1,250; Prosecution fees of $250
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $1,050
Fines under s 325(1) on the register: $300 to $45,000, median $6,275 across 44 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order
What the record would have shown
Work diaries and transport records reconciled against independent data (fuel, tolls, telematics), with each discrepancy followed up. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd | Other | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | 16 May 2025 | View the record of MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd, 16 May 2025 |
| MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd | Other | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | 16 May 2025 | View the record of MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd, 16 May 2025 |
| HMR Supplies Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted | 19 February 2025 | View the record of HMR Supplies Pty Ltd, 19 February 2025 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-94f306d69c37, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.