← The register · Load restraint
Individual · no NHVR reference: fined $800, load restraint, 4 August 2022
Party
- Party
- Individual · no NHVR reference. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Dandenong Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- Victoria
- Hearing date
- 4 August 2022
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 50AAD(1)(A) Road Safety Act, s 111, substantial risk breach
- Offence
- Load restraint
Facts
On 15 September 2021 the individual was observed driving a heavy vehicle, in Doveton, Victoria. The heavy vehicle was intercepted for a compliance check. The individual was required to have a prescribed alcohol interlock device fitted to any heavy vehicle they operated. The individual had failed to comply with their licence requirements to fit an alcohol interlock device. In addition, the heavy vehicle's permitted rear overhang limit was 2,340mm. The heavy vehicle's rear overhang was measured at 3,000mm. Taking into account the applicable dimension adjustment, the vehicle's alleged rear overhang was 2,900mm, an excess length of 560mm. The contravention of the heavy vehicle's permitted rear overhang resulted in a Substantial risk breach. Since the date of offending, the individual no longer works in the heavy vehicle industry. Penalty: Fine: Aggregate fine of $800
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $800
Fines under s 111 on the register: $750 to $13,000, median $5,000 across 7 matters. Fines under substantial risk breach on the register: $800 to $8,000, median $8,000 across 3 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order
What the record would have shown
The restraint method for the load as carried, checked against the Load Restraint Guide before departure, signed and dated. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| J.J. Richards & Sons Pty Ltd | Load restraint | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of J.J. Richards & Sons Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd | Other | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | 16 May 2025 | View the record of MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd, 16 May 2025 |
| MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd | Other | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | 16 May 2025 | View the record of MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd, 16 May 2025 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-98cbf212841a, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.