Individual AS 3673: fined $1,500, fatigue, 12 April 2023
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 3673. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 3673
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Murray Bridge Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- South Australia
- Hearing date
- 12 April 2023
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 325(1)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 3
Facts
The defendant was driving a heavy vehicle which was intercepted by Authorised Officers whom inspected the vehicle, spoke to the accused and inspected the accused’s work diary. Officers detected three false and misleading offences. On one of the accused’s work diary pages, the accused claimed to have travelled between Moree and Bellata – a distance of 51 kilometres – in only 15 minutes. Their Honour stated the defendant had been driving trucks a long time and should know better – they know they have to complete a National Work Diary and they know there is a requirement for it to be accurate.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $1,500
Fines under s 325(1) on the register: $300 to $45,000, median $6,275 across 44 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order, 12 months
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd | Other | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | 16 May 2025 | View the record of MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd, 16 May 2025 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-9ee8c6b867b8, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.