Individual AS 3741: fined $3,500, fatigue, 30 March 2023
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 3741. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 3741
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Port Augusta Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- South Australia
- Hearing date
- 30 March 2023
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 256(1)(a)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 3
Facts
17 October 2021, South Australia Police Heavy Vehicle Enforcement Unit officers Mercedes Prime Mover on the Eyre Highway at Kyancutta. The combination had a Gross Vehicle Mass of 12 tonnes, which meant it was a fatigue-related heavy vehicle for the purposes of the Heavy Vehicle National Law (HVNL). Count 1: Recorded working 16 hours in 24 hours – this is 2 hours over the allowed maximum. Count 2: Recorded working 16 hours in 24 hours – 2 hours over the allowed maximum. Count 3: Recorded working 16 hours in 24 hours – this is 2 hours over the allowed maximum. The accused acknowledged their mistake and accepted that they were being reported for the three offences.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $3,500
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order, 12 months
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd | Other | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | 16 May 2025 | View the record of MAW Civil Holdings Pty Ltd, 16 May 2025 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-ddcbc209b0c9, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.